This documentation relates to the current version of CollectionSpace.

 
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata
Icon

This needs to be reviewed to see if we need to remove outdated material or add in updated information.

How to add, edit, and delete user roles and permissions

This document describes how to add, create, delete or edit a (user) role and change the permissions of a role.

Task Description

The System Administrator often needs to add, create, edit, or delete user roles for museum personnel. Follow the steps provided next to modify what users are allowed to do in CollectionSpace. 

Prerequisites

The tasks described next can be done by any user with proper user privileges.

Procedure

Follow the steps in the next sections to add, edit, and delete user roles and permissions. 

To create a new user role

Go to the Administration Roles and Permissions page, as illustrated next:

Follow the next steps to create a new user role:

  1. Click the Administration tab illustrated at the top right of the graphic.
  2. Click the Roles and Permissions tab.
  3. Click the + role button.
  4. Fill in the fields for the new role.
  5. Select permissions as desired
  6. To successfully create a new role, always assign Delete level of access to it. The Delete permission provides the highest level of access to these services and will ensure that everything behind the scenes works correctly.
  7. Save and exit.
To edit a user role

Follow the next steps to edit a user role:

  1. Click the Administration tab at top.
  2. Click the Roles and Permissions tab.
  3. Select the user role you want to edit.
    The list of access permissions for that role appears in the Permissions table in the right panel.
  4. Make the changes in the Permissions by selecting one of the four permission level radio buttons next to the Information group (resource) whose permission level you want to change (NB: Make sure that you leave all the permissions listed above to "Delete", as not doing so can cause unexpected behavior with CollectionSpace):
    • None means the role has no permissions for the specified resources(s).
    • Read means the role has the permission to read the specified resource(s), but not to create, change or delete them.
    • Write means the role has the permission to read, create or change the specified resource(s), but not to delete them.
    • Delete means the role has the permission to read, create, change and delete the specified resource(s).
  5. Save and exit.
To delete a user role

Follow the next steps to delete a user role:

  1. Click the Administration tab at top.
  2. Click the Roles and Permissions tab.
  3. Select the user role you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete.
  5. Save and exit.

Test

Test the permission changes by logging in as the user/role and attempting tasks that require the modified permission.

Summary

The purpose of this procedure is to demonstrate how to add, edit, and delete user roles and permissions from the Administration Roles & Permissions page.

See Also

For additional information see the Documentation page from CollectionSpace.org.

  • No labels